Common food allergens in children

Allergen Ingredients to avoid Milk

milk allergy

Dairy products: milk, cheese, yoghurt, cream (half and half), sour cream, cottage cheese, cream cheese, butter, melted butter, nougat, cream, breadcrumbs, chocolate, pudding (1,2)

Dairy derivatives: casein, whey (all forms), cottage cheese, lactoalbumin, lactoferrin, lactoglobulin, lactose, lactulose, rennet, diacetyl (1,2)

Potential milk foods: Margarine, tuna (some brands may include casein), dairy products produced in the same facility as milk, foods prepared with butter in restaurants, medicines that have milk protein (2)
The tartar cream does not contain milk


egg allergy

Egg proteins: albumin, vitelin, globulin, animal, lysozyme, surimi, ingredients beginning with “ovo” or “ova”, such as tozilobulin, ovovitellin and the like. (‘Ovo’ means egg) (3)

Egg products: egg, egg puff pastry, mayonnaise, meringue, pasta, baked goods, marshmallows, marzipan, ice cream, meatballs or meatballs, simple

Lecithin, nougat and many fat substitutes can contain eggs. Some pasta may also contain eggs. Medicines and immunizations may contain an egg. Consult the manufacturer, doctor or pharmacist to be sure.


peanut allergy

Peanuts, peanut flour, peanut butter, peanut butter, artificial nuts, cold-pressed, pressed or extruded peanut butter, groundnuts, ground nuts, hydrolysed peanut protein, guberni, hypogeoic acid, mandelona / lupine, magnifiers artificial flavoring, sweets, crumb garnishes, beer nuts

When you dine out, be sure to ask how the food is prepared. Many vegetarian foods can also contain peanuts, so read the labels carefully. (4)

Products with sunflower seeds and soybeans are often produced in facilities that process nuts. Be sure to consult the manufacturer before consuming. (1.4)


allergy to tree nuts

Nuts: Walnuts, almonds, pecans, pistachios, hazelnuts, cashews, Brazil nuts, pine nuts, coconut (some children are good to eat this), beech, oil nuts, chestnut, ginkgo nut, lychee nut, macadamia nut

Ingredients or products from tree nuts: nut milk, marzipan / almond paste, nut extract, walnut oil, pesto (this usually contains pine nuts or walnuts), praline,


soy allergy

I am products: Each ingredient with the word soy, soy lecithin, edamame, quinoco flour, kyodufo, miso, natto, okara, soy sauce, soy, soy protein, opposite soy protein, tamari, tempeh, teriyaki sauce, textured vegetable protein (TVP), tofu, yaku-dofu (grilled tofu), yuba, soy ice cream, soy yogurt. Also watch out for cold pressed, pressed or extruded soybean oil. Highly refined varieties are probably good. Asian foods are at high risk of cross-contact. (5)

Learn more about soy.


wheat allergy

Wheat ingredients: bran, cereal extract, germ, gluten, malt, vital gluten and everything with the word wheat in it.

Wheat products: wheat-based flours, bread crumbs, breaded foods, wheat-based cereals, bulgur, solid flour, farina, fu, mazo, pasta, seitan, tabouleh, einkorn, emer, fricke, mazo, kamut, semolina, spelled, triticale, tritica, soy sauce. Wheat can also be found in Play-doh, modeling clay, some finger paints and glue.

Wheat can be found in many different foods, especially in the form of gluten, so be sure to look at the lists of ingredients.

Although buckwheat has wheat in its name, it does not contain wheat!


shellfish allergy

* Crustaceans and molluscs: Shrimp, crabs, lobsters, mussels, muscle, mussels, oysters, crabs, shrimp, octopus, sea urchin, snails, squid, ears

They can be hidden in a plate, always ask if they are without mussels

* Some people are allergic only to crustaceans, but your doctor will probably advise you to avoid both crustaceans and mollusks.


drawing of canned fish

Common fish: tuna, salmon, cod, mahi mahi, anchovies, bass, catfish, flounder, grouper, haddock, flounder, herring, sole, oculus, swordfish, tilapia, trout.

This is not a complete list, as there are over 20,000 different species of fish. (6)

Fish products: fish oil, fish gelatin, fish sauce, surimi (7)
Beware of fish hidden in dressings and sauces. Always check the ingredient label. Ask about cooking methods in restaurants to avoid cross-contact.

Source link